Welcome to Economics! Daily activities and assignments are posted below the syllabus, with the most recent day at the top.










File Not Found
File Not Found

HEY! Start reviewing for the FINAL EXAM here!

Tuesday, May 15 and Wednesday, May 16Today, we:
Budget_Components.png
This is a visual breakdown of the Federal Budget - nearly 75% of the money is spent on the five biggest boxes. You will need to know a few of the items we spend money on for the Oral Exam.
  • Additonal resources about the federal budget and the national debt:






(Jess Bachman's visualization of the 2012 Budget - great info)











Friday, May 11 and Monday, May 14Today, we:


Wednesday, May 9 and Thursday, May 10Today, we:


Monday, May 7 and Tuesday, May 8Today, we:



Thursday, May 3 and Friday, May 4Today, we:

  • Finished discussing what we know about the causes and effects of the 2008 financial crisis
    • Use this visualization to answer your final "trapezoid":

    • Then, in the center box, write a couple of sentences which synthesizes the ideas - begin this writing with one of the following:
      • "At first I thought (explain), and now I think (explain)
      • "I have realized that..."
      • I will remember (something) from this discussion because...
    • Then, answer number 3 on the sheet


Monday, April 30 through Wednesday, May 2Today, we:
  • finished the documentary
  • completed an activity on the computer concerning credit cards and the dark side of compound interest
  • worked collaboratively on a paragraph giving advice on how to use credit wisely (participation item)
  • Began discussing what we know about the 2008 financial crisis:
Thursday, April 26 and Friday, April 27 - PROJECT/ORAL EXAM WORK DAY








Again, I apologize for the inconvenience of not being here today to answer questions directly. Remember, you can email questions to carin.barrett@thompsonschools.org (don't click on this - copy and paste it into an email while you're in your email account) and I should be able to get back to you pretty quickly. If I don't for reasons associated with my meetings, I will get back to you by Friday afternoon in any case so that you can use time available over the weekend.


Your work ethic today is worth participation points; if Mr. Boyd leaves me your name as having been excessively off task
or disruptive (which is entirely at his discretion), the maximum number of participation points you will be able to earn this quarter is
18/25.

Resources/Reminders/Directions for today:
You are to work on your projects or Oral exam Questions; here are those two documents if you don't have your paper copies:


If you are working on the Stock Project, you should print reports and create your pie and line graphs referenced in part three of the project; this link will take you to a website that's easy to use and will make graphs for you. You can also be sure your three paragraphs are written (we are in the third week), and continue to trade. Remember your account must show some activity for you to get 100 on this project.

If you are working on the Business Plan, the website you need for Part Two is linked here
And here are the two PowerPoints (one for Pd. 1 and one for Pd. 7) you'll need for the paper described in Part One:


Resources that you'll need for part three will depend on your business idea, but remember a good place to look for actual numbers of people who might use your business can be found at www.census.gov (just type in the zip code of the place to get demographic info), and you'll need actual monetary values for the things you need to buy for your business (YOU ARE STARTING FROM SCRATCH - you can't "use" your family's mower) so online is the best place to find prices for question 8.

If you are doing the Economics Of ___ Project, you need to identify a topic and start looking for articles if you haven't already; remember to keep the topic pretty specific so that it's manageable, and it might be a good idea to think of answers to to the questions BEFORE starting to look for articles so you have a better idea of what to search for; the screen cast below explains how to use the website that is required (found here), as well as a few other details about the project (the computers in the lab don't have speakers - use your own headphones or borrow a pair from Mr. Boyd):



Remember that you may work together on Oral Exam Questions, and if you run out of things to do you can practice with each other as we did the other day in class.
Good Luck! Have a nice weekend!
Wednesday, April 25 (1st period only - 7th will complete next week)

Completed a quick section overview of Chapter 9, Section 2
  • Began a documentary on Credit Cards
Monday, April 23 and Tuesday April 24

Thursday April 19 and Friday, April 20
  • Thought about waht we might like to have as adults in terms of standard of living, and then discovered the rate of pay we'd need to earn per hour to support that standard:
  • Took notes on Saving and Investing as a way of achieving short, medium, and long term financial goals:
Tuesday, April 17 and Wednesday, April 18
Friday, April 13 and Monday, April 16
Today, we:


Wednesday, April 11 and Thursday, April 12
Today, we:
  • Finished Mr. Miami Beach - if you were absent and intend to do the business plan, you'll need to borrow the video from me.
  • Discussed the etymology of the words that are used to describe those who influence business
  • Began work on exploring past, present, and future business figures

Monday, April 9 and Tuesday, April 10
Today, we:

Wednesday, March 28 through Friday, March 30
Before spring break began, we:

Over break, take time to work on some aspects of your project or some of the oral exam questions - the time when it will all be due is closer than you think!
Monday, March 26 and Tuesday, March 27
Today, we:

Thursday, March 22 and Friday, March 23
Today, we:

Tuesday, March 20 and Wednesday, March 21
Today, we:
  • Learned about typical labor union negotiation topics
  • Used the ILWU/PMA strike and lockout as a case study to exemplify ways labor relations can affect the US economy

Thursday, March 8 and Monday, March 19
Today, we:
  • Worked on drawings associated with our future plans and the terminology associated with work in the US
  • Applied the idea of wage, intrinsic reward, derived demand, working conditions, capital intensive, and labor intensive to our classroom "labor force"

March 13 and 16
Midterm test

Friday, March 9 and Wednesday, March 14
Today, we:
This is a short screencast recounting the directions for how to write your paper - it can be used to ensure you've done a good job, or for review if you're not sure of any directions:


  • Reviewed for the Midterm, happening for 1st period TUESDAY, MARCH 13, and for 7th period FRIDAY, MARCH 16
    • Click here to be taken to an online version of our review (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED)


Tuesday, March 6, Wednesday, March 7, and Thursday, March 8
Today, we:
  • Completed the 5th quiz/article assignment
  • Experimented with four "towns" and how the price of a Starburst candy can be affected by number of sellers
  • Began working on a short overview of chapter 6 concerning Market Size (7th period complete for homework, 1st will complete in class)
  • Received Paper Assignment (1st period bring books on FRIDAY, MARCH 8, 7th period on WEDNESDAY, MARCH 13):
  • 7th period only: Completed a drawing representing our future wages, working conditions, intrinsic rewards, and derived demand

Friday, March 2 and Monday, March 5
Today, we:

Tuesday, February 28, Wednesday, February 29, and Thursday, March 1
Today, we:
Friday, February 24 and Monday, February 27
Today, we:
  • Finished our "language of prices" activity
  • Completed a sheet detailing Equilibrium (Market Clearing Price), Surplus, and Shortage as they relate to economics (get from bin and get definitions from a friend)
  • Answered questions about how the government becomes involved in price management

Wednesday, February 22 and Thursday, February 23
Today, we:
  • Presented our findings about "the language of prices"
  • Experimented with the results of speaking our "language of prices" to each other

Wednesday, February 15 and Tuesday, February 21
Today, we:
  • took the 4th quiz/turned in the 4th article assignment
  • began exploring the "language of prices" and its benefits and limitations through brief poster presentations


Monday, February 13 and Tuesday, Feb 14
Today, we:

Wednesday, February 8, Thursday, February 9, and Friday February 10
Today, we:
  • completed discussing various ideas associated with the basic concept of supply
  • Did a couple of experiments concerning M&Ms and Paper Chains to explore the concepts of Diminishing Marginal Utility (found in the book on pages 53 and 54) and Diminishing Marginal Returns (found in the book on page 89)
  • Began discussing Elasticity of both Supply and Demand (these were fill in the blank notes - please see me or a friend to get them)
Monday, February 6 and Tuesday, February 7
Today, we:
  • Presented our app ideas and derived demand curves using the class as a data group
  • Took some notes from the book concerning the basic law of demand and concepts surrounding it (starts on page 51)
  • Began discussing our willingness to be a tutor in college 1st period ONLY; finished tutoring activity and completed some notes from the book concerning concepts of supply (starts on page 73):

Friday, February 3: Snow Day!

Wednesday, February 1 and Thursday, February 2
Today, we:
  • Took notes individually from section 2 of Chapter 2, "features of the US economy" - for each of the 5 features, write a brief description of it and a statement of how that feature has specifically most recently affected your own life
  • Learned about the Circular Flow model and completed a brief worksheet on it

  • Began an activity thinking of our own apps for smart phones

Monday, January 30 and Tuesday, January 31
Today, we:
  • Turned in our dice
  • Looked at some real world examples of economic systems in action to further understand them
  • Took notes on the Factors that Contribute to Long Term Economic Growth

Thursday, January 26 and Friday, January 27
Today, we worked on this:


If you were absent, see me for the assignment sheet and dice paper, or get them from the bin in my room.

Tuesday, January 24 and Wednesday, January 25
Today, we:
  • received a sheet explaining the social goals of economics

  • connected those social goals to current thinking on various national issues (see me for makeup)
  • began working on the economic systems assignment, DUE on Wednesday September 7 or Thursday September 8 (information for the side that lists "traditional, command, and market" systems can be found in Chapter 2, and information for the side that lists "Capitalism, socialism, and communism" can be found in chapter 16 - the social goals sheet will also be utilized).


Friday, January 20 and Monday, January 23:
Today, we:
  • Finished working with our "sharky partners"
  • discussed the "social goals" of an economy

Wednesday, January 18 and Thursday January 19th:
Today, we:

  • turned in the second assignment/completed the second quiz
  • finished discussing marginal thinking via some practice problems
  • began discussing the social goals of economics with our "sharky partners" - see folder for your sharky sheet if you were absent


Friday, January 13 and Tuesday, January 17:
Today, we:
  • Completed the first quiz/turned in the first assignment
  • Completed a guide concerning chapter 1, Section 4 (print and complete if at home, get from bin if currently in bldg):
  • Applied the concepts of utility and opportunity cost to "Hoarders"
    • if you were absent, on your own paper:
      • navigate to http://bit.ly/econutility
      • Choose a person from the drop down menu; a "room" in their house will appear.
      • Write the person you chose on your paper and then choose and click on three of the "i"s that are in the room. Explain on your paper what the person is hoarding and what utility they have for that item. Why are they keeping it?
  • Received the second article/quiz assignment: DUE WED, JAN 18 or THURS, JAN 19 - if you're taking the quiz, it's over all we've done so far (all of chapter one).

Homework: Complete article/prepare for quiz

Wednesday, January 11 and Thursday, January 12:
Today, we:
  • Learned about Opportunity cost - explained in this handout:
  • Received Assignment #1, DUE ON FRIDAY, JANUARY 13 OR TUESDAY JANUARY 17 (DEPENDING ON YOUR CLASS DAY)- be ready to turn in the article assignment (found below) or take the quiz (over Chapter 1, sections 1, 2, and 3)

  • Completed an activity and took notes about Production Possibilities Curves (get from a friend or me upon return)
  • Practiced Opp Cost and Production Possibilities with "Pizzas and Rugs" (1st period only got to cut out pizzas and rugs - we'll complete the assignment Friday; 7th period should open the 2 pdfs below and complete)



Monday, January 9 and Tuesday, January 10:
Today, we:
  • Received and reviewed the syllabus
  • Learned "TNSTAAFL" and took notes on the basics of economics - be sure to get these from someone if you were absent
  • Defined the Factors of Production (Chapter 1, sec 1), and practiced applying them via "How it's made" (go to http://bit.ly/factorsofprod to makeup - choose any video you like) using this guide:

Homework: Read Section 2 of Chapter 1 (pages 8-10) and answer questions 1-3 in the section review